Featured FREE Resource:

The History of World Cup Trophy

No doubt that one of the most precious and interesting object in the soccer world is the World Cup of soccer. It has almost a hundred years, yet it has not lost its air of legend and always fascinates with its intriguing past.

The vessel of victory in soccer world is the symbol of success and utmost bravery for almost a century and it will continue to be so for the next soccer generations of players and their fans. Although many people have manifested a genuine interest and love for this sport, the history of this cup might still be unknown. So let’s find out a little more about it in a brief history lesson.

At first, the World Cup of soccer bore the title “Jules Rimet Trophy“; as the title itself shows it, it was named after the first president of FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association). Its design (a gold-plated sterling silver finish on a lapis lazuli – blue natural stone base) belongs to the French sculptor named Abel Lafleur and had also a representation of the Greek god of victory, Athena or Nike.

Thus, originally, the World Cup Soccer trophy was also named “Victory”. The trophy also bares the engraved names of all winners of the World Cup soccer championship. In 1946, to its original name, “Jules Rimet Trophy”, was also added the title of “Coupe du Monde” (World Cup).

The World Cup has a very interesting history, especially the part related to the World War II period. Fearing the Nazi would confiscate it (since the region where it was then held went under German occupation), the trophy was hidden in a shoebox under the bed of Dr. Barassi (he was at the time the FIFA president; he was Italian by birth); there it lied for several years.

Ironic is the fact that in spite of going so much trouble in preserving it during war time, in 1966, during a public display in England, at Westminster Central Hall, the trophy disappeared. It was found in seven days’ time, buried under a tree in a suburban garden in South Norwood, quite far from the place it was exhibited. It was discovered by a little dog named “Pickles” that happened to dig right on that spot. However, the mobile of its theft or the benefits of doing it remain unknown to these days.

When Brazil won its third world cup soccer title in 1970, the trophy was taken to Rio De Janeiro, the capital of Brazil. Sadly, in 1973 the trophy was stolen again and no one has ever seen it since then, not even the soccer fans. However, there are some rumors saying that the vessel has been melt down for its precious metals.

In 1974, the original world cup was replaced by another trophy, which was handed to the captain of the victorious team of that edition of the soccer championship, Franz Beckenbauer from Germany. In order to choose a design for the new world cup, suggestions from seven continents have arrived at FIFA. Eventually, FIFA experts chose a solid 18 carat gold swirling statue with a double-row malachite base. Just as the first time, an Italian was the author of the trophy’s design: Silvio Gazzaniga (designer of other soccer and baseball trophies as well).

The name the trophy bares today is the FIFA World Cup Trophy, although sometimes fans call it “Victory” as a sign of remembrance of the first one. Five countries have won it, Italy being the last, but the trophy still waits for new adventures in the soccer game and names to be engraved onto its base until 2038.

source: http://timesnewsworld.com

0 Comment:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © . My Mind, My Mine - Posts · Comments
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger